Summer Sizzle Saturday at CSP!
Summer Sizzle Saturday at CSP!Lonnie Wheatley, PEORIA, Ariz. (June 24, 2013) – With summer in full swing in the deserts of Arizona, there’s no better time for the Third Annual Summer Sizzle at Canyon Speedway Park near Phoenix than this Saturday night.

Saturday’s Summer Sizzle will feature the wingless combatants of the USAC Southwest Sprint Car Series along with the LoanMart Challenge Cup Sprint Cars, Micro Sprints, Viper Smart Start Pure Stocks and AMA Mod Lites.

Saturday’s action gets under way at 7:00 p.m.

Nobody has sizzled more at Canyon Speedway Park in recent months than current USAC Southwest Sprint Car points leader R.J. Johnson, who has topped all four series points events atop the 1/3-mile clay oval including a sweep of the Salute to Indy double over Memorial Day weekend.

Phoenix shoe Johnson, who topped the inaugural Summer Sizzle at CSP in 2012, carries a 77-point USAC Southwest points lead into Saturday’s action over reigning Arizona Sprint Car champion Charles Davis, Jr., with Mike Martin, Shon Deskins and Ronnie Clark rounding out the current top five.

Currently ranked sixth, Peoria’s Josh Pelkey comes off his first series win of the year this past weekend by wiring the field at Casa Grande.

Michael Bonneau is the defending Summer Sizzle winner in the wingless Sprint Car ranks.

Jesse Turner broke the Josh Shipley-Matt Lundy stranglehold on LoanMart Challenge Cup Sprint Car victory lane by topping the most recent event on June 15.  With four wins in seven outings, Shipley holds a five-point lead over Johnny Shelton, Jr., with Jacob Hawkins, Lundy and Turner the balance of the top five.

After Dusty Cormany topped four of the initial five Micro Sprint Car events, there have been three different winners the last three times out including Joe Scheopne in the most recent event on June 15.

Anthony Madrid put a stop to Bo Partain’s streak of four consecutive Viper Smart Start Pure Stock wins with a triumph on May 11.  Partain holds a four-point advantage over Ryan Eaden in the points chase ahead of Chris McCurdy, Jr., and Ty Weidner, with Marlowe Wrightsman and Steve Shumaker tied for fifth.

John Priest has topped three of four AMA Mod Lite main events including the most recent outing on May 26.