01/19 2016

Amelia Island To Display Famous Trophies by NSSN Staff

The Wheeler Schebler Trophy.

The Wheeler Schebler Trophy.

JACKSONVILLE, Fla. – Long before racing became commercialized, there was nobility in auto racing’s rituals of victory. Louis Meyer, the first to win the Indy 500 three times, said it best: “Winning the Borg-Warner Trophy is like winning an Olympic medal.”

The trophy still packs the same potency it did when it was first awarded to the winner of the Indianapolis 500. A quarter century before the Borg-Warner became auto racing’s most famous trophy, Indianapolis awarded a selection of impressive trophies. But none were as imposing as the seven-foot-plus, sterling silver Wheeler-Schebler Trophy, created by Tiffany’s, that will become the centerpiece of the 21st annual Amelia Island Concours d’Elegance on March 13.

Indy’s massive Wheeler-Schebler was first awarded in 1909, the year The Speedway opened. It was last presented to Harry Hartz, the owner of the car leading at the 400-mile mark of the 1932 Indy 500.

The massive Harley Earl Trophy celebrates the success of winning the Daytona 500, the most prestigious stock car race in the world, and the permanent display trophy in all its grandeur will join the Borg-Warner trophy for only the second time in history.

The rarely seen Maurice G. Bauer Trophy, emblematic of victory in the legendary Cannonball, will be displayed with the 246 Dino that won the 1975 running.

It is emblematic because it was never awarded. A Bolus & Snopes operative bought the bronze bust of Bauer in 1972 and gave it to Brock Yates for use as a trophy. Yates liked it so much that it never left his home. Little is known of Bauer beyond his having “…watched developments from the front porch of his home in Grand Island, Neb.”

“To have these trophies and the cars that won them on Amelia’s concours field brings home the true spirit of racing and the power of Louis Meyer’s words,” said Bill Warner, founder and chairman of the Amelia Island Concours d’Elegance. “It brings our long racing history and heritage into sharp focus.”

Amelia’s “Trophy Cars” will feature eleven significant competition cars and the famous trophies they won in some of history’s fabled classic races:

Borg-Warner Trophy – Indianapolis 500, 1970 Indy 500-winning PJ Colt No. 2

Wheeler Schebler Trophy – Indianapolis Motor Speedway, 1909 Buick “Old No. 10”

Harley J. Earl Daytona 500 Perpetual Trophy – Richard Petty Plymouth Superbird

Le Mans 24 Hour Trophy (1965) – Ferrari 250 LM NART, Ferrari’s last Le Mans 24 winner

Le Mans 24 Hour Trophy(1949) — Ferrari 166MM

Stevens Trophy – Indianapolis Motor Speedway, Cord 810 speed record car, 1937

Race of Two Worlds – Monza, Italy, Watson/Offenhauser roadster, 1957

Vanderbilt Cup – ALCO “Black Beast” (the only two-time Vanderbilt Cup winner) 1908 and ‘09

The Maurice G. Bauer Trophy (Cannonball Run) – 1973 246 Dino

The 1914 French GP Trophy— Mercedes GP

Alec Ulmann Trophy (Sebring)—1954 OSCA MT-4

The 2016 Amelia Island Concours d’Elegance will be held March 11-13 on the 10th and 18th fairways of The Golf Club of Amelia Island at The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island.