01/13 2018


Justin Grant


Justin Grant was the latest driver to punch a ticket into the Chili Bowl Nationals A-Main on Friday night.PHOTO BY CHILI BOWL NATIONALS


The native Californian ended a Keith Kunz Motorsports heat race winning streak


It took four days, but Toyota and Keith Kunz Motorsports’ run of success at the Chili Bowl Nationals came to a pause on Friday night at the Tulsa Expo Center Raceway as Justin Grant became the last driver to win his way through into the Saturday night main event.

Spencer Bayston and Andrew Felker completed the podium and took the other two A-Main guaranteed starting positions while national superstars Kasey Kahne and Ricky Stenhouse Jr. were on the outside looking in.

Kahne finished fifth and Stenhouse was 11th. Thus, they will be among the 333 drivers who will race all day Saturday, advancing though the alphabet soup of heat races to determine who will make-up the 55-lap, 24 car starting line-up.

It’s worth noting that a 25th starter may be added if a previous race winner did not qualify naturally.

But back to Grant for a moment.

Grant defeated a Kunz Toyota, driven by Bayston, good for the second straight year that he won the Friday night preliminary.

“(Last year) we won rolling the bottom, and that’s not really my deal,” Grant said. “Then I got to come back and bang the fence and had a blast doing it. These guys gave me a great Nos Energy Drink midget, and it was an absolute thrill to drive.

“I’m not normally a donut guy, but last year I was so tired, and my wife had babies, and no sleep when I came down here, so (I said) if I ever come back up on this stage, I’m going to do donuts, so I had to get ’em out of the way.”

The complete results from Friday’s preliminary A-Main can be viewed below.

  1. Justin Grant
    2. Spencer Bayston
    3. Andrew Felker
    4. Damion Gardner
    5. Kasey Kahne
    6. Chad Boat
    7. Tim McCreadie
    8. Bricen James
    9. Sheldon Haudenschild
    10. Dave Darland
    11. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
    12. Ace McCarthy
    13. Sam Hafertepe Jr.
    14. Matt Mitchell
    15. D.J. Netto
    16. Brent Beauchamp
    17. Davey Ray
    18. Daryn Pittman
    19. David Budres
    20. Clinton Boyles
    21. Tucker Klaasmeyer
    22. Alex Schutte
    23. Thomas Meseraull
    24. Nick Knepper