02/10 2018

DAYTONA 500 ENTRY LIST FEATURES 40 DRIVERS Qualifying is set for Sunday afternoon before the Clash at Daytona exhibition BY:  MATT WEAVER



The entry list for the Daytona 500 was released on Thursday night.

With just 40 entries, 36 of which are guaranteed through charters, everyone who shows up is expected to race in the 60th Great American Race.

That, of course, could change with any additional last-minute entries. The known nonchartered teams on the entry list are the No. 62 of Beard Motorsports with driver Brendan Gaughan, the No. 66 Phoenix Air Racing with Mark Thompson, the No. 92 of Ricky Benton Racing with David Gilliland and the No. 86 Gaunt Brothers entry with DJ Kennington. No cars can be entered after 8 a.m. Saturday, the deadline for all cars to be presented for NASCAR inspection.

The TBD BK Racing entry is expected to be Gray Gaulding, a decision that has not been confirmed by the team.

The complete entry list can be viewed below.

Back in 2015, 50 cars attempted to make the then 43-car field for the Daytona 500, and 61 attempted in 2007. You have to go back to 1969 to find a Daytona 500 that failed to send a single team home. The starting lineup featured 50 cars for that particular race.

00 Jeffrey Earnhardt Starcom Racing
1 Jamie McMurray Chip Ganassi Racing
2 Brad Keselowski Team Penske
3 Austin Dillon Richard Childress Racing
4 Kevin Harvick Stewart-Haas Racing
6 Trevor Bayne Roush Fenway Racing
7 Danica Patrick Premium Motorsports
9 Chase Elliott Hendrick Motorsports
10 Aric Almirola Stewart-Haas Racing
11 Denny Hamlin Joe Gibbs Racing
12 Ryan Blaney Team Penske
14 Clint Bowyer Stewart-Haas Racing
17 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. Roush Fenway Racing
18 Kyle Busch Joe Gibbs Racing
19 Daniel Suarez Joe Gibbs Racing
20 Erik Jones Joe Gibbs Racing
21 Paul Menard Wood Brothers
22 Joey Logano Team Penske
23 TBA (Gray Gaulding?) BK Racing
24 William Byron Hendrick Motorsports
31 Ryan Newman Richard Childress Racing
32 Matt DiBenedetto GO FAS RACING
34 Michael McDowell Front Row Motorsports
37 Chris Buescher JTG Daugherty Racing
38 David Ragan Front Row Motorsports
41 Kurt Busch Stewart-Haas Racing
42 Kyle Larson Chip Ganassi Racing
43 Bubba Wallace Richard Petty Motorsports
47 AJ Allmendinger JTG Daugherty Racing
48 Jimmie Johnson Hendrick Motorsports
51 Justin Marks Rick Ware Racing
62 Brendan Gaughan Beard Motorsports
66 Mark Thompson Phoenix Air Racing
72 Corey LaJoie TriStar Motorsports
88 Alex Bowman Hendrick Motorsports
92 David Gilliland RBR Enterprises
95 Kasey Kahne Leavine Family Racing
96 DJ Kennington Gaunt Brothers Racing