05/14 2017

IndyCar Grand Prix results: Will Power captures first win By: BRITTANY FREDERICK

Will Power

Team Penske’s Will Power broke his unlucky streak to start the 2017 IndyCar season on Saturday. Here are the complete results from the IndyCar Grand Prix.

After a season of hardships, Will Power finally captured his first Verizon IndyCar Series win of 2017 in Saturday’s IndyCar Grand Prix. Power started from the pole position and dominated the event, leading more than 60 of the 85 laps around the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course.

It was a much-needed victory for Power, who’s been beset by mechanical problems, a crash and a flat tire that kept him off the podium in the first four rounds of the season. He has now finished on the podium in the last two races.

Constant contender Scott Dixon came second for the second time in three tries, followed by Ryan Hunter-Reay, defending race winner (and still current IndyCar points leader) Simon Pagenaud, and Helio Castroneves. Graham Rahal began the day 20th and climbed all the way to sixth.

The rest of the top ten was mostly made up of names who, like Will Power, have had rough seasons so far and earned breaks: Max Chilton, Alexander Rossi, Spencer Pigot and Juan Pablo Montoya in his return since departing IndyCar after the 2016 season. Overall, the IndyCar Grand Prix was a day for drivers who deserved it to finally shine, led by Will Power not only overcoming adversity but wringing its neck.

The IndyCar Grand Prix was without a single caution flag and only two drivers did not finish, both due to having mechanical problems: Sebastien Bourdais and Charlie Kimball.

Two drivers were penalized with drive-through penalties — Marco Andretti for first-lap avoidable contact with Tony Kanaan, and Josef Newgarden’s good day was spoiled by not one but two pit lane speeding penalties. He was made to go around again after also speeding while serving his initial penalty.

Will Power’s victory marks the third time Team Penske has won the IndyCar Grand Prix since it began four years ago; the other two belong to Pagenaud. It’s also the second consecutive victory for the team since Pagenaud earned the win at Phoenix.

But mostly IndyCar fans will remember Saturday as the day that Will Power finally got the monkey off his back, and potentially put himself into contention for the 2017 championship.

Below are the complete race results from the 2017 IndyCar Grand Prix:

1 – Will Power
2 – Scott Dixon
3 – Ryan Hunter-Reay
4 – Simon Pagenaud
5 – Helio Castroneves
6 – Graham Rahal
7 – Max Chilton
8 – Alexander Rossi
9 – Spencer Pigot
10 – Juan Pablo Montoya
11 – Josef Newgarden
12 – Takuma Sato
13 – James Hinchcliffe
14 – JR Hildebrand
15 – Carlos Munoz
16 – Marco Andretti
17 – Conor Daly
18 – Mikhail Aleshin
19 – Ed Jones
20 – Tony Kanaan
21 – Charlie Kimball
22 – Sebastien Bourdais

The Verizon IndyCar Series now prepares for the 101st running of the Indianapolis 500, with the qualifying beginning on May 20.