04/27 2015

Josef Newgarden Scores First Career Victory at Barber Motorsports Park

Sarah Fischer


BIRMINGHAM, Ala (April 26, 2015) – There is nothing like the smile of a first time winner, and driver Josef Newgarden proved that true today following his first career Verizon IndyCar Series victory in the INDY Grand Prix of Alabama.

Newgarden put his No. 67 Hartman Oil CFH Racing Chevrolet in the lead three times for a race-high 46 laps in the 90-lap event around the fast 2.3-mile, 17-turn Barber Motorsports Park. It is the first victory for CFH Racing as an organization.  During the off season Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing (team owners Sarah Fisher and Wink Hartman) merged with Ed Carpenter Racing.  Prior to today’s win by Newgarden, the teams had a total of five Verizon IndyCar Series victories.

The win jumped the 24 year-old driver from ninth in the standings to fourth as the series next heads to Indianapolis Motor Speedway for the Grand Prix of Indianapolis.

“What a strong first career win for Josef Newgarden today at Barber Motorsports Park!” said Chris Berube, Chevrolet Racing Program Manager, Verizon IndyCar Series.  “Congratulations to Josef and to CFH Racing for their first win as a new team.  The racing at Barber’s flowing circuit is always intense with some great battles throughout the field for the fans.  Winning today required great driving, great teamwork and a fully integrated engine and aero package.  This sets the stage for the next race at the super-fast Indianapolis Motor Speedway Road Course.

The win is the third of the 2015 Verizon IndyCar Series season by the Chevrolet Aero Kit with integrated IndyCar 2.2 liter V6 twin turbo-charged direct injected engine in four races.

Scott Dixon, No. 9 Coke Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet, grabbed the final podium position finishing third on the heels of his win at the Indy Grand Prix of Long Beach one week ago. Dixon jumped to third in the standings.  Graham Rahal (Honda) completed the podium with a second place finish.

Defending Verizon IndyCar Series champion Will Power, No. 1 Verizon Team Penske Chevrolet, finished fourth to give Team Chevy three of the top-five finishers.  Ryan Hunter-Reay (Honda) was fifth.


Team Penske’s Juan Pablo Montoya and Helio Castroneves remain first and second in the standings.  Montoya finished 14th in the No. 2 Hawk Performance Chevrolet after on-track contact sent him to pit lane for repairs, and Castroneves, No. 3 AAA Insurance Chevrolet, started on pole, but was relegated to the 15th finishing position after running out of fuel on the final lap.

Sebastien Bourdais, No. 11 Team Mistic E-Cig-KVSH Racing Chevrolet and Simon Pagenaud, No. 22 Penske Truck Rental Chevrolet finished  eighth and ninth to give Chevrolet five of the top-10 finishers.


The Grand Prix of Indianapolis is schedule for Saturday, May 9, 2015, and Opening Day for the 99th running of the Indianapolis 500 and the debut of the Chevrolet Speedway Aero Kit is set for Monday, May 11, 2015.