09/27 2013

Keith Kunz Racing a Triple Threat for The Western World Championships

Keith Kunz Racing a Triple Threat for The Western World Championships


Kevin Montgomery, PEORIA, Ariz. (September 27th, 2013) – Hall of Fame Mechanic/Car Owner Keith Kunz ventured into Arizona at the end of last year with a cast of young drivers and dominated last year’s Western Classic and now after a short absence, Kunz will again head west with anticipation of dominating the Sands Chevrolet/Hose Advantage 46th Annual Western World Championships at Peoria, Arizona’s Canyon Speedway Park.


The same famous race cars and the same legendary mechanic will again wander west but this time it will be with a trio of drivers including Rico Abreu, Christopher Bell and Tanner Thorson at the wheel of the Bullet Chassis/TRD Kunz machines. The KKR Team is among the early entries to this year’s Western World Championships and aim to become the first Western World USAC Midget Champion.


With $20,000 on the line the top USAC drivers from around America will congregate in the west at Peoria, Arizona’s Canyon Speedway Park for three nights of USAC National Midgets and USAC Southwest Sprint Cars vs. USAC West Coast Sprint Cars. A $7,500 winner’s share will be up for grabs in both Midget and Sprint Car competition as well as the E & K Construction $5,000 bonus for any driver able to win both the Midget and Sprint Car Titles.

Three-day tickets purchased prior to the October 1 early deadline will be discounted at just $60, with VIP Suite tickets for all three days available for $90 and All Access Passes for $105.  After October 1, three-day tickets will be $65 with VIP Suite Tickets at $95 and All Access Passes at $110.


Single day tickets are $20 for both Thursday and Friday and then $25 for the November 16 Western World Championships finale.

Detailed Western World Championships ticket information and pricing is available at

Tickets may be ordered by calling the track at 602-258-RACE (7223).

Bryan Clauson and Wayne Johnson are the reigning Western World champions after topping last year’s wingless and winged feature events.