Lewis Hamilton wins German F1 Grand Prix for Mercedes AUTOWEEK

Lewis Hamilton wins German Grand Prix F1 race for Mercedes

Lewis Hamilton won his fourth consecutive F1 race of the season on Sunday when he finished first at the German Grand Prix.PHOTO BY LAT PHOTOGRAPHIC


Lewis Hamilton won his fourth consecutive Formula 1 race on Sunday when he finished first at the German Grand Prix.
The Mercedes driver was followed by Red Bull drivers Daniel Ricciardo and Max Verstappen.
In a rare occurrence, Hamilton was the only Mercedes driver on the podium, as Nico Rosberg came in fourth place.
Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel rounded out the top five.
With the win, Hamilton extended his lead in the championship standings, putting space between himself and Rosberg.
“What a day,” Hamilton said. “Just awesome. I wasn’t expecting to be as strong as I was today. I had a great start. We have been working really hard to get off the line faster and more consistently and that hard work has clearly paid off.”
While Mercedes remains dominant, the story of the day was the performance of the Red Bull cars. The second and third place finishes of Ricciardo and Verstappen, respectively, shows that the Red Bull team can compete.
“It was a difficult and disappointing day for me,” Rosberg said. “I had a lot of wheel spin at the start. That was strange, because my start during the formation lap was good. That cost me the lead and then the next two places as well, which meant it was always going to be a difficult race from there.”
The only American team, Haas F1, had its best finish from Esteban Gutierrez, who came in 11th place, while Romain Grosjean came in 13th.
Check out the rest of the results below.
1. Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes
2. Daniel Ricciardo, Red Bull
3. Max Verstappen, Red Bull
4. Nico Rosberg, Mercedes
5. Sebastian Vettel, Ferrari
6. Kimi Raikkonen, Ferrari
7. Nico Hulkenberg, Force India
8. Jenson Button, McLaren
9. Valtteri Bottas, Williams
10. Sergio Perez, Force India
11. Esteban Gutierrez, Haas
12. Fernando Alonso, McLaren
13. Romain Grosjean, Haas
14. Carlos Sainz Jr., Toro Rosso
15. Daniil Kvyat, Toro Rosso
16. Kevin Magnussen, Renault
17. Pascal Wehrlein, Manor
18. Marcus Ericsson, Sauber
19. Jolyon Palmer, Renault
20. Rio Haryanto, Manor
21. Felipe Nasr, Sauber
22. Felipe Massa, Williams