04/08 2018




Zane Smith’s first ARCA trophy is one of the coolest in motorsports: a Nashville Fairgrounds guitar.PHOTO BY ARCA RACING SERIES


The 19-year-old won in his 18th career start


It was a long time coming for Zane Smith, but it was well worth the wait.

On the heels of three runner-up finishes in 2017, Smith put it all together on Saturday night at Fairgrounds Speedway Nashville, winning the Music City 200.

Smith, in the No. 41 LaPaz Margarita Mix Toyota, passed his MDM Motorsports teammate Sheldon Creed with 20 laps to go and drove away to a 10-car-length lead for his career-first ARCA triumph.

“I knew it was going to come down to me and Sheldon … I think you’re going to see that battle a lot this year,” said Smith. “I can tell you coming to the white flag my legs were shaking. I forgot how to get to victory lane; it’s been so long.”

MDM Motorsports swept the top three positions with Creed in second and Harrison Burton in third.

“That’s all props to MDM Motorsports,” Smith added. “Mardy (Lindley, crew chief) got this thing golden tonight. It was on rails all night. Pit road, they killed it. We never lost a spot.”

Creed beat Smith on the last restart to lead 12 laps but couldn’t muster up the pace to hold off the eventual winner.

“Super happy with our run tonight,” said Creed. “I feel like the short tracks have been my weakness so this feels really good. Congrats to Zane on his first win. Hopefully our first win is coming soon. ARCA is the hardest first win I’ve ever tried to get. I feel like we’ve got some really good momentum right now: third at Daytona and second here.”

Burton charged from the 25th starting position to finish third.

“It was tough,” said Burton. “We made some really good changes throughout the day. This MDM team really fights hard, digging deep when you think you’re down. Really proud of my teammate Zane Smith; he’s a heck of a wheelman. For our whole team to finish one-two-three, that’s really hard to do in ARCA.”

Michael Self, who led seven laps, flirted with the leaders all night, finishing fourth in the Sinclair Lubricants Toyota for Venturini Motorsports — good enough to retain his championship lead after two events.

“It’s a fun place to race; that’s for sure,” Self said. “You really have to adapt a lot. This place changes all night. Overall, a really good night. We just got to go back and figure out how to beat those MDM cars.”

Fifteen-year-old Chandler Smith won the pole with a new track record and led the first 51 laps before he got shuffled back during pit stops. The rookie spent most of the race battling back, finishing fifth in his series debut.

Tyler Dippel, Chase Purdy, Christian Eckes, Brandon Grosso and Bret Holmes completed the top 10, respectively. Natalie Decker finished 11th, the last car on the lead lap. Zane Smith was also led the most laps with 120. Five cautions, for minor incidents, slowed the pace for 43 laps.

The complete results can be found below.

  1. Zane Smith
    2. Sheldon Creed
    3. Harrison Burton
    4. Michael Self
    5. Chandler Smith
    6. Tyler Dippel
    7. Chase Purdy
    8. Christian Eckes
    9. Brandon Grosso
    10. Bret Holmes
    11. Natalie Decker
    12. Ryan Repko
    13. Riley Herbst
    14. Thad Moffitt
    15. Travis Braden
    16. Joe Graf Jr.
    17. Gus Dean
    18. Thomas Praytor
    19. Eric Caudell
    20. Joe Cooksey
    21. Brad Smith
    22. Con Nicolopoulos
    23. Will Kimmel
    24. DL Wilson